Rhett's Fashion Blog

Fashion Advice, Tips & News!

Walking to work/class in the winter? Look here for fashion tips!

My friend Liz came to me recently and said, “Rhett, I’m going to be walking to class during these cold Wisconsin winters and I don’t know what to wear. I want to be warm on my walk but not roasting inside. Help!” Liz, you know that I love to help you. Here are some ideas to keep you cozy but cool.

 

Thermals: I’m a sucker for thermals. My best friend Kelly started wearing them long before I did and she always looks so cute in them, so I decided to try them. I have a grey one from Aerie that I just love, and now I can’t get enough of them. Thanks, Kel.

 

Thermals are great because they keep you warm but not roasting. You can roll your sleeves up easily to cool down if you get too warm. You can also layer under and over them – a tank underneath (which is something that I always recommend), and a T over the thermal.

Black is always a great color choice. It goes with everything and anything!

Grey is so warm and inviting. Pair this with a fun neon necklace to brighten things up on a cold winter day.

I love leopard print. It’s such a great neutral and is so fun to wear!

When wearing this strong of a blue, stick with either indigo jeans or white jeans. Yes, you CAN wear white after Labor Day!

This thermal is dedicated to my best friend Kelly and to Liz, whom this blog is for. Always make sure you support your favorite team!
Where to buy thermals: You can get them anywhere. I like the selection at Target, The Northface, Walmart and Wet Seal. You can get them for inexpensive and keep them for years to come!
Boyfriend Jeans: I just love this trend. They’re so light and loose, as opposed to the tightness of the other jeans out there. Loose pants = more warmth. Believe it or not, there is nowhere for heat to go when you’re wearing skin tight pants. In looser pants, the heat has little pockets to gather in, therefore keeping you warmer.

 

Where to buy boyfriend jeans: My pair is from Abercrombie and Fitch. I try to only buy jeans there because they fit me so well (I’m 5’0 and a size 0). However, I ONLY buy them on clearance. I also like American Eagle jeans, Gap jeans, Target jeans, Lucky Brand jeans and occaisonally Aeropostale jeans.

Boots: You always want to make sure your boots are insulated. Otherwise your feet will be wet and cold for the rest of the day. Always make sure to spray your boots with a suede spray to protect them from salt and water.

If you can only buy one pair of boots, go for a color that matches the majority of your wardwrobe. My main pair of winter boots are white and black Sorel’s.
Where to buy winter boots: I got my boots at Fleet Farm. You can check any sporting goods store for a good pair of boots. Don’t forget the spray!

Scarves: This is a great way to stay warm outside but cool inside. You can take the scarf off, stuff it in a bag and put it back on before you go outside. You’re going to want a thick scarf, not a fashion scarf. Fashion scarves are great but they aren’t so good for keeping you warm on cold winter days. You can get these in a majority of colors and patterns. Have fun with your scarves!

Where to buy scarves: Nearly anywhere that sells clothing will sell scarves. Opt for a medium to long length so you can wrap it around your neck and then tie it.

Jackets: Your winter jacket is the most important thing you’ll wear on days like this. My main jacket is from Abercrombie and Fitch. I got it in 2007 and still wear it nearly every day in the winter. It was $200 and worth every penny. Opt for a coat that is down-filled, not filled with the cheapy fluff stuff. Goose down is a natural insulater and incredibly warm. I have a jacket that’s almost identical to my Abercrombie one but it’s not goose down and that makes it signifigantly colder. Also, opt for a jacket with a removable hood that is faux fur lined.

 

Avoid pea coats. They are adorable, I know, but they won’t keep you warm like a true winter jacket will. The exception is if  you can find a flannel lined pea coat. I used to have one by Abercrombie and Fitch, but my best friend Kelly loved it so much that I gave it to her.

 

Where to buy jackets: Quality is everything when it comes to a good jacket. I love Abercrombie and Fitch, Gap, and Kenneth Cole.
Cardigans: If you get to warm, just take it off. Cardigans go with anything and everything, from jeans or shorts to a formal dress. They’re a fail-safe, and one of my addictions.

Where to buy cardigans: Anywhere and everywhere. The best time to buy is late spring and all summer, when winter items are on clearance. Once August hits, fall and winter items come out and prices go up. I’m a firm believer in never buying just seasonal items.

Socks: I love wearing thick, cozy socks under my boots. Pull the top of the sock a few inches above the top of  your boot. Scrunch the socks a bit for a fun, cozy look.

 

Where to buy boot socks: I get mine at sporting goods stores and Walmart. Target also carries them. You can get them in a variety of colors and patterns.
Staying warm when outside in the winter is crucial. You don’t want to get sick, or sit inside wet and cold.

 

Stay Sweet,

Rhett

August 17, 2012 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

   

