Rhett's Fashion Blog

Fashion Advice, Tips & News!

Your Jeans & Denim Questions Answered!

One thing nearly all women can agree on is this – we love jeans! My favorite jeans are Abercrombie and Fitch, and Bullhead at PacSun. Being 5’0 and a size 0, it’s hard to find jeans that fit and aren’t long on me – even jeans sold as Size 0 Short. A&F jeans are the softest I’ve found and they are moveable. Bullhead’s are durable and very long lasting.

Now, I know some of my readers are going, “I would never pay for Abercrombie jeans!” Honestly guys, I have never, ever paid full price for a pair of A&F jeans. I shop during their massive clearance sales and usually pay between $14.90 and $29.90. The most I have ever paid for jeans there was $49 for my very first pair – the Emma Bootcut. I still have them, too. They are light wash, have a hole in the knee and are covered in oil and grease from an engine transfer I did with my husband. They are very sentimental to me – they changed how I viewed denim forever. Abercrombie goes up to a size 12 in jeans. Keep an eye on http://www.abercrombie.com – they have awesome sales!

For Bullhead jeans, I get them on clearance at PacSun for around $9.99 a pair. PacSun will occasionally do a buy one, get one free for their clearance stock. That is a great time to stock up on jeans, especially if they are $9.99 a pair!

Common Jeans Questions:

1. How Do I Know What Color Shirt To Wear With Dark/Light Wash Jeans?

Dark: Dark wash jeans will pull your outfit together. Any light colored top will go well with dark jeans. You can also wear dark tops with dark jeans as long as the tones aren’t super close together (black and navy) or if you use contrasting accessories to finish your outfit.

These colors go best with dark washes

Light: This is controversial for a lot of people. I am not a fan of light tops with light jeans. By light jeans I mean nearly white, not medium wash. Light on light runs the risk of looking washed out. If you are going to do light on light, use a top that has some dark in it – black, navy, brown, plum, or hunter green. Match your shoes to the darkest color in your shirt. It will help your look seem more put together and polished.

These colors go best with light washes (minus the blue)

Medium: Medium wash jeans are the most popular right now. They are the most versatile and go with just about anything. If they are more solid, lean toward lighter tones. If they have white washed in, lean toward darker tones.

2. Can I Wear Jeans To A Formal Event?

This all depends on the event. When in doubt, ask the host/hostess. If she says it’s ok to wear jeans, wear an indigo colored pair. They look put together and stylish, and don’t give off a causal feeling that jeans normally do.

3. How Long Should I Keep My Jeans?

As long as they last! There is no reason to get rid of a good pair of jeans if they still fit and are in good condition.

4. I Am Really Short With Womanly Hips. Help Me Find Jeans!

Crystal M. from Texas is short, around 5’2, and she has hips and a booty on her. She swears by jeans from New York and Company, and Lucky Brand. She also says that Old Navy Jeans are great too but sometimes they are hard to find since the stores are in less than organized condition. Tiffany P. from Florida is also very petite with womanly hips. She likes Paris Blues jeans and Miley Cyrus/Max Azria. Remember ladies, it’s not about where you get your jeans. It’s how they fit your body and how they look on you.

5. I Am Tall – Jeans Are Always Short On Me. Help!

When buying or trying on jeans, make sure you are going for your size in a long. They are made for tall girls. Hollister, Abercrombie, Delias, Lucky Brand and Levi’s are great brands for tall girls.

6. I’m A Curvy Girl, Can I Wear Skinny Jeans?

I am going to get heat for this I’m sure but I say YES! You can! Look for a pair that has good stitching, is a dark indigo, and the pockets are closer together rather than farther apart. If pockets are farther apart, your booty will look bigger. If that’s what you want, than by all means, rock it. Make sure the top you are wearing fits you properly, and wear a great pair of heels to elongate and slim your legs.

7. I Want To Try Colored Jeans. How Do I Wear Them Without Looking Like A Young Girl?

This is a good question, since colored jeans are really popular right now. Pick a strong color, like red or pink. For a top, go with a fun print – leopard, floral, ikat, indian… something different. If a printed top is too much for you right away, go with a flowy, flirty top in a neutral color. Accessorize based on the colors in your top (for prints), not your pants. Top your look off with heels to match your accessories, and you will have a grown up colored denim look. If you go with a neutral top, accessorizes with a dark base color, like black or chocolate brown.

8. I See Black Jeans For Sale. Can I Wear Them, Or Are They A Trend To Leave Behind?

One thing Rhett’s is about is growing in your fashion. If you want to try something, go for it. I just bought a pair of black skinny jeans at Goodwill and I’m super excited to try them and see what I can do with them. Use them as your base and then have fun with your top. You can wear nearly anything with black jeans – even brown, if it’s cognac! They can be dressed up or dressed down, and in some cases, worn to work.

9. How Do I Roll My Cuffs?

I’m a cuff roller. One thing I recommend avoiding is doing huge cuff rolls. A big cuff roll looks very beachy or very “I’m trying to avoid a flood/mud/critters”.  A medium or thin cuff roll looks chic and put together, and gives off that cool-girl look that we all want. To do a roll, start by bending at your hips. Don’t do this sitting down as you may not get the length you want and you’ll have to do it over and over. Pull on the bottom of your pant leg, and then fold it up 1-3 inches. Roll it one more time so the cuff stays put. There, you have a cuff roll! Cuff rolls are great for days that you aren’t wearing a heel of sorts. You’ll protect the bottoms of your pants and look cool doing it!

This is a tad too much

A perfect cuff roll

10. I Want To Wear Destroyed Denim, But I’m Not Sure How. Help!

This is a Rhett classic. I love destroyed denim. I’ve worn it since I was around 2 years old, with the trends and without the trends. When destroyed denim, or holey jeans, first came into style again, it was around 2001. They’ve been around ever since, and I think they are a lasting thing since it’s been 10 years. You can get anything from a small hole to jeans that are barely held together by the threads.

DON’T LET THIS BE YOU! Ladies, this is not cute. It’s not hot. It’s not classy, stylish or sexy. It’s gross. There is a huge difference between a small tear on your booty and this. If there is a tear on your booty, wear a cute pair of boy shorts for your panties that day so the neat pattern will show through. This is only if you must do this. Rhett recommends not doing this at all. Your assets may be great, but leave something to be desired.

Holey jeans are very versatile. You can toughen them up with leather, or dress girly with a lacy top.

11. I Love Denim Shorts. Are They Too Teenager For Me?

NO! Never. Denim shorts are a great staple to have in your wardrobe. They are great for running errands and casual days. I personally love Abercrombie shorts. Hollister also makes great shorts, and so does Delias. Wet Seal and Forever 21 have denim shorts for great prices as well. I also highly recommend Missimo for Target for shorts.When buying shorts, make sure they fit. Your butt cheeks should not be hanging out or showing in any way.

This is a no-no.

12. What About Jean Skirts?

This is where the line between young girl and young woman gets drawn. Teen girls love denim skirts. The shorter, the better for them. Denim mini skirts are always associated with young girls. If you are going for a more grown up look, go for a denim midi skirt.

The young girl look.

The young woman look.

I hope I’ve answered your questions and helped you in the quest for perfect denim.

Stay Sweet,

Rhett

August 9, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

    Comment by true religion outlet | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. After study a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

    Comment by true religion outlet | August 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

