Rhett's Fashion Blog

Fashion Advice, Tips & News!

Boyfriend Jeans – 5 Ways For Fall, 5 Ways For Winter!

When Boyfriend Jeans first became popular, I was against them. They’re baggy and loose around the hips, and I’m super short, so I figured that this was a trend that wasn’t for my short frame. That lasted about two months, until I went to Abercrombie and Fitch and saw a pair of their boyfriend style jeans on sale for $29.90. I have a huge weakness for Abercrombie jeans, so I had to buy them.

I’ve noticed that a lot of women have a hard time trying to figure out how to wear their boyfriend jeans. The good news is this: you can wear them however you like! I am going to give you five very different outfit ideas for fall, and five very different outfit ideas for winter.

The jeans in this blog are Abercrombie and Fitch Boyfriend Jeans, summer 2010.

Fall:

When I bought this jacket, I just kind of liked it. The more I look at it, the more I seem to fall in love with it. I bought it in a medium since I layer a lot in the fall. Rhett hint: If you are big into layering, buy jackets and vests a size bigger than you normally would.

Jacket: Jimmyz, Goodwill, $3.99

Tank: Aeropostale, Goodwill, $2.99

Shoes: DEB, $12.00 on clearance

 

Leopard print, the new neutral. It goes with so much, and adds a fun touch to boyfriend jeans.

Jacket: Goodwill (no tag), $3.99

Shirt: Mossimo for Target, $3.99 on clearance

Booties: Bitten by Sarah Jessica Parker, Plato’s Closet, $7.99

This outfit is great for errands, a family cookout or a casual dinner at a laid back restaurant.

Shirt: Goodwill (no tag), $2.99

Tank: American Eagle Outfitters, $3.99 on clearance

Necklace – Rummage Sale

Bracelets – Rummage Sale

Shoes – Nadara for Journey’s, Black Friday 2009, $14.99

Ok, there is seriously nothing like a comfy sweater. I bought this based on the opinion of a friend back in 2009 and I am so glad that I did. It’s one of the only red pieces that I have in my closet (although not for long!)

Sweater: Forever 21, fall 2008, $9.90

Bracelet: Rummage Sale

Shoes: Simply Vera by Vera Wang, Goodwill, $5.99

I have this thing for plaid and flannel. I think it’s because my dad wore a lot of it so it immediately brings a comfort to me. I also love button downs.

Shirt: Aeropostale, Black Friday 2010, $5.00

Belt: American Eagle Outfitters, $24.99

Shoes: Steve Madden TROOPA’s, won in the Walk to 200,000 sweepstakes on Facebook. They are available on http://www.stevemadden.com for $99

Necklace: Rummage Sale

Those are my five fall outfits to wear with boyfriend jeans.

Winter:

Have I mentioned lately how much I love rummage sales? I got this sweater at one recently and I am just itching to wear it outside.

Sweater: Rummage Sale, $3

Button Down: New York and Company, Rummage Sale, $2

Boots: Zigi Soho, Nestle Style, Journey’s, Black Friday 2010, $59.99

Oh, puffer vest, how warm you are. Everyone should have a puffer vest. They are so warm!

Vest: Urban Behavior, Plato’s Closet 2008, $8.99

Thermal: American Eagle Outfitters, 2008, $6.99 on clearance

Boots: eBay, $19.99

Layers, layers, layers! Where I live, the winters get down right cold. It is possible to layer, look cute and pull off boyfriend jeans!

Thermal: American Eagle Outfitters, 2008. $6.99

Cream Sweater: Kenneth Cole New York, Goodwill, $7.99

Knit Vest: Aeropostale, Black Friday 2010, $6.99

Scarf: Rue 21, $3.00

Very rarely in the winter will I not tuck my jeans into which ever pair of boots I’m wearing. We have very wet winters, and moisture breaks down fabric. There is nothing stylish about walking on the bottom of your pants or having them torn out. It gives off a negative appearance and makes your look go from chic to pre-teen. Roll up your cuffs – it looks cool and trendy, and it will prolong the life of your pants! You will see these boots a lot in the winter. I wear them almost every single day!

Turtleneck Sweater: DEB, $4.00

Coat: Chico’s, Goodwill, $4.99

Scarf: Rue 21, $3.99

Boots: Birthday Gift 2010

There are 10 outfits you can put together to wear with boyfriend jeans. They are incredibly comfortable. I recommend getting them in a dark wash for your first pair. A dark wash tends to go with more outfits, colors and patterns that a light wash does.

Rhett reader and fan Alyssa F. says this about boyfriend jeans: “boyfriend jeans are my fav! They’re pretty much the only jeans I wear!”

 

Stay Sweet,

Rhett

 

August 8, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Denim ten ways? What could be better?!

    Comment by EatSleepDenim | August 10, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks! I see you love denim too 🙂

      Comment by rhett19 | August 10, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

