Rhett's Fashion Blog

Fashion Advice, Tips & News!

Request: Boots!

Boots are a staple in anyone’s wardrobe. They go with just about anything and many times pull an outfit together. There is a right way and a wrong way to wear boots. How do you wear brown boots with black leggings? I’m even going to talk about the forever controversial UGG’s.

One thing you will always see Rhett in from Fall to Spring are boots. I even wear them on cold summer nights. I have around 20 different pairs, from Apostrophe to Merona to Candie’s to Steve Madden to Wet Seal. I get my boots from anywhere and everywhere. Rarely do I find a pair that I don’t like.

This is one of my favorite pair. I wear them with so many different outfits. My sister Kara bought them for  me a few years ago at Sears. I wear them with leggings or skinny jeans and a sweater.

The SM’s that I have. My mom got them at a rummage sale for $7! They are so versatile and go with so much!

These are the boots that everyone loves. If you search online, they are still available. They are the Deidra style. I got them at Kohl’s for $16.99 on clearance. They were originally $99! You will see these a lot with my outfits. They are my favorites.

I have a pair very similar to this, but taller. I got them at Wet Seal. I got them before the rocker, edgy style was popular. I have always loved that look.

I bought these on a whim, before snake skin became a huge trend. I had a feeling they’d be popular, and sure enough, next Spring Season, this style was all over. I wear them with skinny jeans and a fun top. I also love them with a comfy, loose turtleneck that I have from Gap.

Steve Madden TROOPA boots. I won them in the Steve Madden Walk to 200,000 sweepstakes on Facebook. They are still available on http://www.stevemadden.com, and several other websites. They’ve become a go-to in my wardrobe. I wear them with skinny jeans, shorts, dresses, just about anything. I roll the tops down for a trendy, fun look.

These are my rain boots. They are lined with wool inside so they keep you dry and warm at the same time! They are made by Sporto, and I got them from http://www.endless.com.

Every woman should have a pair of tall black boots. They can be dressed up or down, can be worn at work, out dancing, or to dress up a sweater outfit. Here are several examples of tall black boots:

These boots will never go out of style. However, there is a right way and a wrong way to wear them. The right way is over leggings, under boot cut or flare jeans, over skinny jeans, or with a midi skirt for work. The wrong way is with shorts or a mini skirt. Unfortunately, that is a look that a lot of ladies like, and it gives off the wrong idea. It isn’t classy or stylish.

Brown boots are also a great item to have in your closet. Sometimes you can’t wear black boots with an outfit. Brown boots are just what you need!

 

Now, brown boots with black leggings seems to be coming into fashion. This can be done, evne though a lot of people think it’s impossible to wear black and brown together. Years ago, it was a fashion disaster, but I am going to show you a way that you can wear brown boots with a black outfit. When doing this, go for a cognac color, like the second brown boot pictured above. Cognac (prounouned Koh-knee-Ack) has red tones and will work as an opposite color with black instead of a similar color. Pair cognac jewelry and the outfit will look expertly put together.

Another trend are the motorcycle/rebel boots. They have an edgy, hardcore, rock star look, and they’re a Rhett favorite. They can add a tough look to an otherwise feminine outfit.

 

I love them with skinny jeans, or with a flirty sundress. In fall, you can wear them with tights, a dress and a cardigan for a cool-girl look.

 

Rain boots are a way to have fun with boots. They come in so many colors and patterns that it took me months to find a pair that I loved. They are usually inexpensive, so get a few pairs. I think every woman should have rain boots. No one wants to have soaking wet flip flops or flats.

These boots can be worn with anything and still look good. You are staying dry and fashionable at the same time! A note on rain boots: While they are adorable, they are a fashion disaster if you are wearing them when there is no chance of rain. The exception is if you will be around a lot of mud. Save them for rainy days!

With the explosion of nude heels will come an explosion of nude boots. They go with everything!

The same rule applies to nude boots as to nude heels: make sure you get a pair that matches your skin tone if you plan on wearing them with skirts or dresses. They will elongate your legs and make them look amazing! You can wear nude with any color.

Booties are fun, fashionable and are an all season boot. You can wear them with just about any outfit and they look chic.

Booties are great to add color to an outfit. I recommend having colored booties instead of colored boots if it’s a bright, vibrant color.

Winter boots are something every woman should have if you living in a snowy climate. Real winter boots, not suede with fur ones. Sorel makes great boots that stay warm and dry for a long time. I have a pair of Ranger’s that I use for ice fishing, and they keep my feet warm up to -30 degrees, and dry. Below are pictures of real winter boots.

 

 

Furry boots are adorable and great when running in and out of stores. It takes a lot to get most of the brands wet, but they aren’t great for standing outside for long periods of time in the cold and snow.

Furry boots are great with jeans, leggings, and midi skirts with tights. They are not meant to be worn with denim mini skirts. There is nothing stylish or fashionable about a winter jacket, a denim mini, bare skin and then furry boots. Unfortunately, many women do this because they think it’s sexy. It’s not sexy, ladies. It makes your outfit look confused. This look isn’t even okay on teenage girls.

UGG boots are not something I am a fan of. I’m not sure why, but they aren’t for me. I think they are adorable on kids. I think the idea of UGG’s were forever ruined for me the first time I saw someone wearing them with a mini skirt in July. UGG’s are meant for warmth in the winter time. That’s why they are wool lined. It is not a fashion statement of any kind to wear them in the middle of the summer, or in any weather over 60 degrees. They are best worn with skinny jeans or comfy pants.

Colored tall boots are hard to style. However, it can be done. Let the boot be the focal point of your outfit. Wear minimal jewelry and neutral colored clothing. They are great with pattered tights.

 

Boots will always be in style. They are a fun way to dress up an outfit. Remember, furry boots and UGG’s are not meant to be worn with mini skirts. Tall boots are not meant to be worn with mini skirts unless you have tights on, and even then it’s risky. In the winter, if you will be outside for long periods of time, get a good pair of winter boots. If you plan on wearing a lot of color with your outfit, booties are the way to go. Tall colored boots should be the focal point of you outfit. Rain boots are meant for rain or mud. Motorcycle/rebel boots can add an edgy look to a girly outfit.

One more tip: If you get ANY material besides leather, buy a protecting spray. I use Kiwi brand. You get a bottle for around $6 at Walmart in the shoe section. Do, at the very least, two coats. It’s got a strong odor, so spray it away from kids and pets. If you have leather, they do make a protecting spray for that too and I highly recommend it.

Now, for some very expensive eye-candy to end this blog:

First three: Alexander McQueen, my absolute favorite designer.

Second three: Giuseppe Zanotti, my favorite shoe designer

Last three: Sergio Rossi, a very unique designer

 

I hope you enjoyed this blog as much as I enjoyed creating it for you!

 

Stay Sweet,

Rhett

 

 

July 20, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

