Rhett's Fashion Blog

Fashion Advice, Tips & News!

Fall 2011 Trend: Red

Red is one of those colors that you either love or you don’t. It was huge on the runway shows for Fall 2011 for Valentino, Gucci, The Row, DKNY, Jill Stuart, Rodarte, Michael Kors, Elie Saab, Moschino, and several others. Even the people attending Fashion Week were wearing red.

Rodarte, Fall 2011

I’m not a huge fan of red. I’m not sure why, either. Whenever I have a choice of colors, red is always one of the last I choose. I’m trying to broaden my horizons with red, so a few days ago I bought a short sleeved red knit. It’s got little red beads on the shoulders. I plan on pair it with grey skinny jeans and red booties.

When wearing red, make it your statement color. Pair it with a neutral, like black or grey, so that it can be your focal point. Red can stand on it’s own, but if you want to enhance it, I recommend leopard print. The two work so well together and compliment each other beautifully. This shoe, by Sergio Rossi, is a great example of red, leopard print, and neutrals (the heel)  working together.

 

I recommend wearing dark denim jeans with red. Light jeans can work against the red and the outfit can end up looking washed out. I also really love red as accessories only – belts, jewelry, and lip stick. Reader and fan Nikki sent me this picture of how she does red:

She has on a red headband, a red necklace and red lipstick. Her black shirt sets off the red perfectly, and the red compliments the black. Great job Nikki!

If you are more of a daring person with fashion and want to do red and another color, I recommend yellow. They’re great together, compliment each other, and make the person wearing the outfit stand out. I also love red and navy together.

Another idea is red and white. I found this photo from Spring 2011 Fashion Week in Paris, and then copied the outfit. Even though it was during spring, the outfit works well for fall!

    

Shirt: Gap, found at Plato’s Closet, $4.00

Jeans: Aeropostale, $9.99 on clearance

Booties: Payless, 2006, $19.99

Coat: Goodwill, $7.99

The red booties are the focal point. Several trends are covered here – stripes, nautical, white pants, and red. It’s a very simple outfit, but it’s chic as well.

I found some red items that I love for fall. They can all be found at http://www.gojane.com, one of my favorite sites.

I love red pants and can’t wait to get a pair myself. These will work with stilettos, as in the photo, or boots.

 

  Red working with a neutral. Fall has cold nights, so I recommend a nay shrug to go with it, and navy pumps.

 

Polka dots are always trendy. This top is fun, girly and can be dressed up or down. I would wear a yellow cardigan over it with dark jeans (like the model’s).

Red and floral. There is green in this dress, so you could wear green pumps and a green blazer, cardi or shrug with it. It’s informal enough to wear as an every day piece, yet formal enough to wear to a wedding reception.

Have a special party, wedding, or other event to attend that requires you to dress very formal? One shoulder dresses are very popular right now. This has a flower on the shoulder that adds a touch of femininity to the look. I would go with black pumps and a rhinestone bracelet with this dress. Silver pumps would also look nice.

These would be my go-to for everything red shoes. They go well with jeans or dresses!

I love these for a night out dancing. Because of the sparkle on this pair, I would tone down the jewelry so the shoes can shine on their own.

I love these with a pencil skirt. They are gorgeous as a dress shoe.

I love wedges with maxi skirts/dresses, shorts, and jeans. The print on this pair makes them very versatile.

I picked these because they have an edge to them. However, they don’t have a platform and the heel is high, so make sure you have a place to sit and rest if you wear a pair like this for a long time.

The rosette’s on these sandals make them feminine, but they can be worn with a casual outfit.

 

 

Red is the color of the season. Do you plan to follow this trend?

 

Stay Sweet,

Rhett

July 17, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

