Rhett's Fashion Blog

Fashion Advice, Tips & News!

Rhett on Deals and Steals

I am a huge clearance shopper. I always make a beeline for the back of the store, where the clearance racks are. I go thru each and every item in every size. When people go thru the racks, things get mixed up, so don’t just look in your size. If you find something you love but the tag says it’s a size too big or too small, try it on anyway. Every single store has sizes that vary. I have a Polo Ralph Lauren cashmere sweater that is an XL, and I am a XS or S. I got it at a rummage sale, and plan on doing lots of layering with it. Think button downs and jackets!

Stores will rarely put clearance in the front. New and hot items go in front, and they are always priced the highest. Registers are usually in the middle of the store, and clearance is in the back. The idea is that something at the front will draw you in, and you will love it so much you won’t go back to clearance. Always check clearance first. More often than not, you can find something similar to the items at the front of the store for a fraction of the price. Your dollar will go a lot further and you will have more money to spend, and ultimately come home with more clothes!

Another great thing about clearance shopping, rummage sales and thrift stores is that people get rid of things after one season. You luck out, because the trends rarely last just one season. Animal print, for example, has been around forever, and some seasons it’s hotter than others. This fall, animal print is the new neutral. You can match classic leopard print with just about anything. A staple in your wardrobe should be a leopard print shirt, a pair of shoes and a bracelet. You can also do colored leopard print – especially red! The two paired together adds the perfect amount of sexiness and edge without being over the top.

Never underestimate the power of a rummage sale. More and more younger women are selling their clothes. If you find a sale that has a lot of clothes you like, talk to the seller and see if the next time she cleans out her closet, she’ll call you first so you can pick out things before the sale. Always check for stains and holes. A lot of people will sell anything and everything and it’s easy to miss little imperfections. Some shirts with tears can be repaired. If you really love it and know you’ll wear it, go for it. If it’s priced similar to other clothing items, ask the seller if she’ll take the price down since it does have to be repaired.

After-holiday sales are a great way to stock up. Black Friday is my favorite holiday. Make sure you know the stores you are going to, because a lot of places will raise prices and then “lower” them, so you think you are getting a deal when in reality you are paying the normal price for the item. Check the stores open times. Some will open at midnight, and then go from there. It will be a zoo, but if you are looking for deals, it is will worth it. Diesel and I shop until we can barely walk. Black Friday 2009 was especially fun for me – I bought 15 pairs of shoes! Having a huge shoe collection as it is, that put me on Cloud 9. After Christmas, New Year’s, Memorial Day, Fourth of July and Labor Day are also great sales.

I also don’t shy away from paying full price for something I truly love. There are going to be times when you will walk into a store and instantly be in love with something and it will be worth the price. One of those times was when I got my Abercrombie and Fitch winter jacket. I put it on and fell in love. It was very pricey, but I didn’t care. To this day, it is still the warmest jacket I’ve ever had, and I’ve had quite a lot of jackets. I also believe in quality when it comes to jeans. I prefer my jeans to be super soft and don’t mind paying a bit more to get that quality.

Are you a clearance shopper? What is your best rummage sale, thrift store or clearance story? Do you have any tips or tricks you’d like to add? I’d love to hear it!

Stay Sweet,

Rhett

 

 

July 10, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

